Trainee Awards

Mary Tom Award

Best Clinical Paper

This award is given in the memory of Dr Mary Tom, who was one of the first neuropathologists in Canada, and greatly contributed to the development of neuropathology at the University of Toronto.  She was one of the founding members of the Canadian Association of Neuropathologists.  Dr Tom was an renowned clinical diagnostician.  Consequently, this award is given to acknowledge the best clinical science paper in neuropathology presented at the Annual Meeting by a resident or student in neuroscience.

Dr. Ana Nikolic (supervisor Dr. Resch) for her unknown case presentation “C6: Graft versus host disease of the brain.”

Dr. Kristopher Langdon (supervisor Dr. Hammond) for his presentation “A10: Adult-onset progressive dementia and myoclonic epilepsy with polyglucosan bodies.”

R van Ommeren (working with P Shannon)

Maryam Abdollahi (working with Munoz)

Suzy K ( working with Lothar)

Dr. Noor Alsafwani (Case#2)

Morrison H. Finlayson Award

Best Basic Science

Dr. Finlayson was one of the founding members of the Canadian Association of Neuropathologists.  Although he principally worked at the Montreal General Hospital as a clinical neuropathologist, he was actively involved in research and made some significant contributions.  Because of Dr. Finlayson’s research activities, therefore, this award is given for the best paper presented by a resident or post-graduate student in basic sciences and research.

Jordan Warford (supervisor Dr Easton) for his
presentation: “Understanding the role of surfen, a proteoglycan
antagonist, in mouse models of multiple sclerosis: Applications
for the development of novel therapeutics.”

Derek Wong (supervisor Dr. Yip) for his presentation
“A1: Investigations of the functional interactions between CIC and ATXN1L in Oligodendroglioma.”

Andrew Gao (Finlayson working with L Hazrati)

Maliha Khara

Hoang Nyugen (working with Max Richer)

Delaney Cosma, Abstract 9: Cortical Dysplasia: Teaching Pathology to a Machine